Chat Questions: Oct 5, 2017

sandy background with transparent white text box and grey text "Chat Questions: Oct 5, 2017 #chronicsex"

Our chats are usually around one hour and are held on Twitter. Start time is 8 pm Eastern – 7 Central – 6 Mountain – 5 Pacific. If you’re in another time zone, check the time zone converter. Make sure to use the hashtag #chronicsex to participate in the chat.

This week, we’re talking mental illness since it’s Mental Illness Awareness Week.

Q1: Please introduce yourself in whatever way you’re comfortable sharing

Q2: Do you have a mental illness?

  • Yes, diagnosed
  • Yes, undiagnosed
  • No
  • I don’t know

Q3: Do you know what effects your medications can have on your physical and/or mental health?

  • Yes
  • No
  • Unsure
  • I have a rare dx so it’s unresearched

Q4: Do you feel like your mental health care is being well taken care of?

  • Definitely
  • So-so
  • Not really

What we endure in childhood can contribute to (and maybe cause) both physical and mental illness: ACEs Study

While ACEs are important, they also currently leave out socioeconomic status and societal discrimination, so we’ll add those in

Q5: What ACEs do you think may have influenced your current illnesses the most?

  • Experiencing abuse/neglect
  • Poverty/food/health access
  • Systemic discrimination (racism, homomisia, etc)
  • Lack of support/isolation

Q6: What treatments have worked to help with your mental health?

  • Medications
  • Therapy
  • Pets
  • Other

Q7: What is the one thing that brings you the most comfort?

Chat Questions: March 30, 2017

Please remember that our chat time is currently: 8 PM Eastern (NYC) 7 PM Central (Chicago) 6 PM Mountain (Denver) 5 PM Pacific (Los Angeles) You are alway welcome to join in after the chat has ended – plenty of people do! Tonight, we’re going to talk about different forms of self-care. Q1: Please introduce […]

Chat Questions: March 23, 2017

Please remember that our chat time has been pushed back an hour to: 8 PM Eastern (NYC) 7 PM Central (Chicago) 6 PM Mountain (Denver) 5 PM Pacific (Los Angeles) Tonight, we are talking about dealing with high-pain days: Q1: Please introduce yourself in a way you’re comfortable sharing Tonight, we’re chatting about dealing with […]

Chat Questions 17 Nov 2016

Did you know that November is National Caregiver Month? The term ‘caregiver’ can be negative sometimes if we’re not happy about needing help. Caregivers can be anyone in your support network who supports you physically, emotionally, or mentally. Q1: Please introduce yourself in a way you’re comfortable sharing Q2: Who in your life do you see […]